What is a Class 4 vehicle?

The definition of “Class 4 vehicle” can vary depending on the specific context and region. Here are two common interpretations:

1. South African Vehicle Classification:

  • In South Africa, the Class 4 vehicle classification is defined by the National Department of Transport. It refers to motor vehicles with:
    • At least four wheels
    • Used for the carriage of passengers or goods
    • Falling within specific weight categories:
      • M3(a) and M3(b): Passenger vehicles with a maximum gross vehicle mass (GVM) exceeding 3,500 kg (7,716 lbs)
      • N3(a) and N3(b): Goods vehicles with a maximum GVM exceeding 3,500 kg (7,716 lbs)

2. MOT Class (United Kingdom):

  • In the United Kingdom, the term “Class 4” is used to categorize vehicles for MOT (Ministry of Transport) tests, which are mandatory periodic safety inspections.
  • Class 4 specifically refers to:
    • Private passenger vehicles and ambulances with up to eight passenger seats
    • Goods vehicles with a design gross weight up to 3,000 kg (6,614 lbs)

Therefore, it’s crucial to consider the context when encountering the term “Class 4 vehicle.” If you’re unsure about the specific meaning, additional information or clarification from the source is necessary to understand the intended classification.

Here are some additional points to remember:

  • The South African classification system uses gross vehicle mass (GVM), which includes the weight of the vehicle itself and its maximum cargo and passenger weight.
  • The UK MOT classification system uses design gross weight, which is the weight the vehicle is designed to carry, not necessarily its actual weight at any given time.
  • These are just two examples, and the definition of “Class 4 vehicle” might differ in other regions or contexts.